Glenorchy District Football Club - The Magpies

2019 GRACE AIDENThe Centennial Season just got more exciting, with Aiden Grace the latest recruit to fly into The Nest!

Previously from Clarence, Aiden led the Geelong Football League's goal kicking last season, booting 59 majors for runners up St Mary's.

That form earned him three call-ups to the Geelong VFL team and he produced a classy 4-goal performance against minor premiers Richmond.

If you would like to sponsor Aiden and receive a Framed Centennial Jumper along with other benefits, sign up for our Centennial Player Sponsorship

Senior Club Coach Paul Kennedy is excited about having a player of Aiden's calibre at the club for the Centennial Year and beyond.

"Gracey is an outstanding talent but he's also a great example for his teammates with the way he goes about training, which is impressive for a 21-year-old," Kennedy said.

"He still has aspirations to play at the highest level, as a club we fully support that and we look forward to the big impact he's going to have for Glenorchy in the TSL."

Grace's first home outing at KGV is on Saturday 6 April in the Heritage Game against North Hobart.

Click here to book your spot at the official Heritage Game Dinner featuring all-time greats of the Magpies-Demons rivalry, Gary 'Super' Linton and Darryn Perry.

gdfc women coaches 2019

The Glenorchy District Football Club is proud to announce Peter Barwick as TSLW Senior Coach for the 2019 season, taking the reins from premiership coach Craig Grace.

Peter, a Playing Life Member of the club and GDFCW Assistant Coach in recent years, commented:

“It’s a great honour to head up the panel as senior coach in the club's Centennial Year. It’s also a privilege and a challenge to take over from Craig, who has done an amazing job, not only for the Glenorchy Football Club, but for women’s football in general."

Peter will head up a Coaching Panel of (from left to right) Garry Barwick (midfield coach), Dean Webster (backs coach) and Sandy Eaton (forwards coach).

In a first for the club, the team’s opening game will be on ANZAC Day under lights at KGV, including the unfurling of the 2018 Premiership Flag.

Enjoy the Thirteen Plays of Christmas from 2018, see you soon for our Centenary Year:

In a befitting presentation at last Friday's annual AFL Women's Lunch at Blundstone Arena, our own Sandy Eaton was named Tasmanian Woman Footballer of the Year.

One of the finest GDFCW Players the club has ever produced, Sandy has been an ornament to the game and the heart and soul of our Women's team since it's inception in 2014.

Sandy announced her retirement from football after this season's premiership win, but she is very keen to remain involved with the club, and no doubt her experience and knowledge will be a benefit for our future GDFCW stars for many seasons to come.

Congratulations Sandy!


Best & Fairest:  Daniel Joseph

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Harrison Gunther

Best & Fairest 3rd: Josh Arnold

Best Clubman: Rhys Mott

Best First Year Players: Adam Roberts & Jack Stevenson

Best in Finals: Josh Arnold

Best Team Player: James Webb

Leading Goalkicker: Jaye Bowden

Magpie Tough: Ben Kamaric

Most Consistent: Callen Daly

Most Effective / Impact Player: Mitchel Rainbird

Most Potential: Ben Kamaric


Mercury Cup

Best & Fairest: Brodie Rowbottom

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Daniel Coppleman

Best in Finals: Riley Oakley

Best Team Player: Chris McKnight

Coaches Award: Braydon Patterson

Leading Goalkicker: Brodie Rowbottom

Most Consistent: Nathan Newman

Most Effective / Impact Player: Brodie Rowbottom

Most Potential: Dominic Brown

Under 18s

Best & Fairest: Connar Walker

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Beau Kelly

Best Team Player: Zac Welsh

Most Consistent: Zac Evans-Fenton

Most Effective / Impact Player: Nathan Blowfield

Most Improved: Brandyn Holmes

Most Potential: Seb Michalowski



Best & Fairest: Mackie Sutcliffe

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Sarah Skinner

Best First Year Player: Jade Williams

Best in Finals: Natalie Daniels

Best Team Player (Players Player): Mackie Sutcliffe

Coaches Award: Rachael Siely

Leading Goalkicker: Nietta Lynch

Most Improved: Elise Barwick




Happy Birthday

Next Games