Community &
Auskick FAQ

For more on COVID-19
go to the AFL Frequently Asked Questions page - which is being updated regularly


It was something perhaps unthinkable just a decade ago, but the picture on the KGV terraces on Thursday evening gave a glimpse of the future.

The TSL team had taken care of business and retained the treasured Fred House Perpetual Trophy, now it was the TSLW team's turn to shine.

With most of the 1100-strong crowd remaining, the women unveiled their 2018 premiership flag and then put on a show.

Madi magic
They tackled like a premiership team, drawing 'oohs' from the crowd with several crunching hits, but it was youngster Madison Shaw who really brought the fans to life.

Picking up a loose ball in traffic, the debutante left two Tigers defenders bamboozled with a pair of blind turns before snapping truly to the absolute delight of the Magpie army.

When veteran Nietta Lynch pulled in a crunching pack mark the crowd was again at full voice, 'Neets' on her way to a five-goal haul to lead her team to a thumping 67-point win. 

Lynch's efforts were impressive, but it was the athletic Gen Sullivan who claimed the ANZAC Day medal for her exploits in the ruck.

Gen Sullivan medal

Midfield clinic
Sullivan dominated stoppages, setting free the fleet-footed midfield of Elise Barwick, Jemma Webster, Bri Barwick and Sarah Skinner as Glenorchy showed their speed and run will be tough to stop in 2019.

This is the first of three games where the TSL and TSLW will play on the same day, along with the Centennial Game on Friday 31 May v Clarence, and Saturday 17 August v Lauderdale.

As AFL Tasmania's umpiring numbers grow, a day of footy featuring U18s, development league, TSL and TSLW could become the norm, and judging by Thursday that future will be popular with Magpie fans.

Click here to become a member and make sure the future of Glenorchy is strong

Development demolition
Earlier in the day, the development team saw off a strong first-half challenge from the Tigers to run away convincing 46-point winners.

Teenage recruit Giacomo Millucci was the standout with a best-on-ground display, ably supported by fellow youngsters Brady Williams, Isaac Manson and Braydon Patterson as the future also shone bright in the early game.

Jack Stevenson and Trad Duggan continued their strong seasons in defence, Daniel Coppleman returned as a late replacement for Sam Hall and was his usual dependable self, while Zac Webster got plenty of the ball in his first game for the season.

Last season's high-flying surprise packet Bayler Bester (pictured below) booted three goals, while returning premiership forward Tyler Bowden finished with a pair and Manson also added two.

Bester high DeraJ
*Pic thanks to DeraJ Photography by Ange Brazendale

Youngsters on the march
On Friday night, the U18s made it four-from-four for the round, grinding down the more-fancied Tigers team to record a stunning 10-point win.

The result wasn't sealed until the final minute when a brilliant Jack Hills snap under pressure capped a relentless pressure performance in difficult conditions.

The win backed up their gritty four-point triumph over Clarence 12 days earlier, and the U18 team has now topped its win tally from the past two seasons.

Hills was joined by Nathan Blowfield, Ben McRoss, Ash Rowlands and Tom Allen as the stars of the night.

*The seniors, development team and U18s next return to KGV on Saturday 11 May against Lauderdale

*The women's team's next home game is on Sunday 26 May against North Launceston

rsea banner




Senior Premierships

Our Senior Teams have won 19 Premierships from our first in 1919 to our last 2016.
Click here to see the full list
The 2016 Premiership Team

Women Senior Premierships

Our Womens Team have won 1 Premiership in 2018.
Click here to see the details
The 2018 Premiership Team




New Town Football Club

1878……New Town Football Club founded.

1879……New Town Football Club commenced competition in the newly formed Tasmanian Football Association.

1887……New Town amalgamated with Glenorchy Football Club to form the Victoria Football Club that played in a Junior competition.

1905……New Town had reformed under its original name to compete in the Southern Tasmanian Football Association until it became defunct in 1907.

1919……A group of enthusiastic football supporters came together in late 1918 to reform the New Town Football Club. The Club competed in a local junior competition during the early part of the 1919 season before joining the newly formed Southern Tasmanian Junior Football Association.

1921……New Town Football Club joined the senior competition, namely the Tasmanian Football League.

1942–1944……The Tasmanian Football League went into recess following the outbreak of the 2nd World War and resumed in 1945.

1945……The Tasmanian Football League resumed competition under the banner of a District Boundary system. Clubs in the competition adopted the word District to their respective names, hence the : New Town District Football Club.

1957……New Town changed its name to Glenorchy District Football Club and moved from its New Town oval to King George Fifth oval at Glenorchy.

Read more about the early years of the New Town Football Club

GDFC logo 150w

Glenorchy District Football Club

1957……Glenorchy FC merged with New Town, forming the new Glenorchy District FC.

Read about the start of a new era
Find out about our Past Players and Officials Association

Seniors - Seasons Played
All of our Senior Coaches
All of our Senior Captains

Team of the Century

Past Presidents


2014……Glenorchy esrblished a senior womens team to play in the Tasmanian Women's Football League

2017……Glenorchy women's team joined the Tasmania State League Womans's league.

Women - Seasons Played
Women - Senior Coaches
Women - Senior Captains

Club Facebook