Season Details

Fixtures and Results

Georges on the Park caters for weddings, dinners, birthday parties, awards nights, private functions and conference meetings.

previous arrow
next arrow

Wayward kicking threatened to derail Glenorchy’s charge to a clean sweep over the old enemy, but eventually their contested-ball dominance proved too much for Clarence as the Pies sealed the Bingley-Linton Cup for the sixth straight year.

Remarkably, on a beautiful day for football at Bellerive, the visitors managed just 11 goals from 34 shots, with 17 registering a minor score and six sailing completely wayward.

However, after the Magpies were jumped by a fierce Clarence side early, that inaccuracy around goal was the only blemish on a quality second-half performance, where the victors led inside 50 entries 26-13 and booted 7.11 to 2.5.

Stars aplenty
The hard ball troika of Rhys Mott (23 possessions, 10 inside 50s), Ben Kamaric (24 possessions, 9 clearances, 8 tackles) and Cal Daly (10 clearances, 7 hard ball gets) were again at the heart of it, feasting on the ruck work of Cam Duffy and Sam Hall, who combined to win hit-outs 58-22.

Harrison Gunther was a star at both ends. Sent forward in the absence of Jaye Bowden, the 20-year-old booted a pair of first-half majors, before heading back after intermission to subdue Clarence dangerman Chris Nield, who was rarely sighted once Gunther took the job.

The Roos’ best was coach Jeromey Webberley, who booted four brilliant goals in the opening hour to put his team 21 points in front at half-time.

But stand-in Pies skipper Josh Arnold met the challenge head-on after the break, picking up an impressive 10 spoils (and 19 pressure acts in total) as he held the former Richmond Tiger to one further goal for the game.

Perhaps the pick of Glenorchy’s backs was recent convert Zac Webster, who defended like a man possessed to also finish with 19 pressure acts, including 7 tackles and 6 smothers.

Spreading the load
Up forward Aiden Grace toyed with his former team, taking 8 marks and having 9 score involvements, only his inaccurate 2.5 and three out-on-the-full preventing him from kicking a bag.

He received plenty of assistance though, Adam Roberts nailing a pair, including a brilliant snap from a forward stoppage in the final term and a classy set shot from the angle in the third.

Sam Reeves was busy all day, clunking 4 contested marks and featuring with 9 score involvements, while Liam Smith kicked two final-quarter goals to seal the deal and Kamaric also added a brace.

Daly was awarded the medal as the best player across the two Bingley-Linton Cup games, narrowly edging the ever-consistent Mott.

*Glenorchy have the bye next week before returning to KGV for their final three games of the season against the Tigers, Lauderdale and North Launceston

Glenorchy 11.17.83 d Clarence 10.8.68

Grace 2, Gunther 2, Kamaric 2, Roberts 2, Smith 2, Reeves
Mott, Kamaric, Daly, Gunther, Webster, Grace


rsea banner




Senior Premierships

Our Senior Teams have won 19 Premierships from our first in 1919 to our last 2016.
Click here to see the full list
The 2016 Premiership Team

Women Senior Premierships

Our Womens Team have won 1 Premiership in 2018.
Click here to see the details
The 2018 Premiership Team




New Town Football Club

1878……New Town Football Club founded.

1879……New Town Football Club commenced competition in the newly formed Tasmanian Football Association.

1887……New Town amalgamated with Glenorchy Football Club to form the Victoria Football Club that played in a Junior competition.

1905……New Town had reformed under its original name to compete in the Southern Tasmanian Football Association until it became defunct in 1907.

1919……A group of enthusiastic football supporters came together in late 1918 to reform the New Town Football Club. The Club competed in a local junior competition during the early part of the 1919 season before joining the newly formed Southern Tasmanian Junior Football Association.

1921……New Town Football Club joined the senior competition, namely the Tasmanian Football League.

1942–1944……The Tasmanian Football League went into recess following the outbreak of the 2nd World War and resumed in 1945.

1945……The Tasmanian Football League resumed competition under the banner of a District Boundary system. Clubs in the competition adopted the word District to their respective names, hence the : New Town District Football Club.

1957……New Town changed its name to Glenorchy District Football Club and moved from its New Town oval to King George Fifth oval at Glenorchy.

Read more about the early years of the New Town Football Club

GDFC logo 150w

Glenorchy District Football Club

1957……Glenorchy FC merged with New Town, forming the new Glenorchy District FC.

Read about the start of a new era
Find out about our Past Players and Officials Association

Seniors - Seasons Played
All of our Senior Coaches
All of our Senior Captains

Team of the Century

Past Presidents


2014……Glenorchy esrblished a senior womens team to play in the Tasmanian Women's Football League

2017……Glenorchy women's team joined the Tasmania State League Womans's league.

Women - Seasons Played
Women - Senior Coaches
Women - Senior Captains

Club Facebook



Next Games